Wearable Art Sneak Peek

Here is a sneak peek of the cup dress I am making for the Wearable Arts Show in two weeks.

The dress is made of plastic drink cups cut in two and stitched on to a under skirt with a hula hoop in the hem. It will be worn over black leggings. The top part is going to be worn on top of a black long-sleeved shirt and is made of felt with cotton ruffles. It has a vintage circus vibe, so I went with that and added the chain and buttons.

I made this little top hat on Sunday to go with the dress.  The hat is made of cardstock, cardboard, felt and satin.

This detail shows the trimmings. I dyed the ribbon and feathers orange. I used matching toothpicks and straws (more to the back) to tie it into the cups from the dress. I also want to make some spats to go over the boots and some gloves or  wrist ruffles. I’m not sure which yet.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Curious Art
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 06:19:33

    This is amazing!! The cup skirt is just brilliant, & I love the toothpicks & straws as well. Are you by any chance a hooper btw?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

