Owl cookies part 2

It seems like people are liking the cookies that I posted yesterday, so am going to show you how I made them.

Since I did not have an owl cutter, I used a the foot portion of a stocking shaped cutter to make the shape I needed. I cut one, then flipped the cookie dough cutout and cut it again.

20130209-193219.jpg

20130209-193243.jpg

Reading Sweet Sugar Belle’s blog really inspired me to not only make cookies as Christmas gifts, but to be creative with my cookie cutters. Take a look at her blog for some amazing cookies and inspiration.

After cutting the owls out, I used a small heart cutter to mark the face area, making sure not to cut through the dough.

20130209-194329.jpg

After baking and cooling. I used ivory royal icing to fill in the face area. I dropped in royal icing eyes that I had previously made.

20130209-194707.jpg

I didn’t take photos of the next steps, so I will just explain.

I then used brown icing to make the wings. When the face and wings were dry, I filled in the body with a lighter brown. While it was still wet, I used the darker brown to make three lines across the chest. Then using a toothpick I dragged lines through the icing starting from below the three brown lines.
To finish I used orange icing to make the beak and toes.

And there you have owls!

I also made some mushrooms and acorns to include in the gift boxes.

20130209-195537.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bernice
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 20:26:59

    How cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

